La version française suit.

PARTITION/ENSEMBLE: joint conference of CATR and SQET 2020

25-28 May 2020, in Montreal, QC (Université du Québec à Montréal and Concordia University)

The Canadian Association for Theatre Research holds a conference each year that brings together theatre scholars, educators, professionals, and students from around the world. This year’s conference – “Partition/Ensemble” – is a joint effort of CATR and the Société québécoise d’études théâtrales (SQET).

If you have questions about the 2020 conference, please email partitionensemble@gmail.com.

The conference will feature papers, workshops and performances on a wide range of theatre and performance studies topics, relating to both Canadian and international performance. These presentations are instrumental to defining our field and represent the most innovative research, methods, and theories emerging in performance-related disciplines. Our conference is an important site for building scholarly and creative community, and works to promote an environment where members can engage in vibrant discussion, develop professional alliances, make and renew friendships.

Call for Open Papers, Demonstrations, and Posters:

Click here to see the full call.

Click here to see the short call.

Proposals due 4 December 2019. Deadline extended to 9 December 2019.

Graduate Student Travel Subsidy

Financial assistance may be available to graduate students attending the conference to offset travel costs. Details will be posted in Spring 2020.

Awards and Scholarships

CATR offers numerous awards and scholarships to members, including many targeted specifically at graduate students and emerging scholars participating in the annual conference. See the Awards page and related links for more.

Conference Team:

Conference Programming Committee Co-Chairs: Nicole Nolette and Sylvain Lavoie

Local Arrangements Committee: Marie-Christine Lesage, Chantale Lepage, Shauna Janssen, Yves Jubinville, Sylvain Lavoie, Carole Nadeau, Nicole Nolette, Erin Hurley, and Ash McAskill

Conference Programming Committee: Jessica Carmichael, Mindy Carter, Paula Danckert, Véronique Hébert, Kathleen Irwin, Yves Jubinville, Marie-Christine Lesage, Yana Meerzon, Carole Nadeau, Glen Nichols, Jean-Paul Quéinnec, and Sarah Waisvisz

%d bloggers like this: